F1: FIA Releases 2010 Entry List, Without USF1 or Stefan GP

What Happens When There Is Finally Some Closure

3:51pm EST — In two press releases, the FIA has finally announced the (possibly) final information in the will-they-won’t-they USF1/Stefan GP entry saga.  Neither team is on this recently released 2010 entry list, which does give the “BMW Sauber” team numbers.  The team formerly known as Campos and now known on the entry list as HRT F1 (Hispania Racing Team) only has Bruno Senna listed as a driver, with the second driver to be announced.  In a separate release, the FIA states,

The USF1 Team have indicated that they will not be in a position to participate in the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship. Having considered the various options, the FIA confirms that it is not possible for a replacement team to be entered for the Championship at this late stage.
In the coming days the FIA will announce details of a new selection process to identify candidates to fill any vacancies existing at the start of the 2011 season.

This statement seems to suggest that USF1 will have to re-enter for next season, should there be an opening.  In all likelihood, that means the complete and utter end of the USF1 dream, as if the recent news weren’t enough to dash many hopes.  Similarly, it baldly states that there will be no replacement team, ending the hopes of StefanGP, one would assume.  Twenty-four cars will start in Bahrain, according to this entry list, with Sauber retaining BMW in its name, despite the car company’s having left the series, and the Ferrari engine powering the car.

Team Constructor Driver (Number)
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes (GBR) McLaren Mercedes Jenson Button (1)
Lewis Hamilton (2)
Mercedes GP Petronas Formula One Team (DEU) Mercedes Benz GP Limited Michael Schumacher (3)
Nico Rosberg (4)
Red Bull Racing (AUT) Red Bull Racing Renault Sebastian Vettel (5)
Mark Webber (6)
Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro (ITA) Ferrari Felipe Massa (7)
Fernando Alonso (8)
AT&T Williams (GBR) Williams Cosworth Rubens Barrichello (9)
Nico Hulkenberg (10)
Renault F1 Team (FRA) Renault Robert Kubica (11)
Vitaly Petrov (12)
Force India F1 Team (IND) Force India Mercedes Adrian Sutil (14)
Vitantonio Liuzzi (15)
Scuderia Toro Rosso (ITA) STR Ferrari Sebastien Buemi (16)
Jaime Alguersuari (17)
Lotus Racing (MAL) Lotus Cosworth Jarno Trulli (18)
Heikki Kovalainen (19)
HRT F1 Team (ESP) HRT Cosworth TBA (20)
Bruno Senna (21)
BMW Sauber F1 Team (CHE) BMW Sauber Ferrari Pedro de la Rosa (22)
Kamui Kobayashi (23)
Virgin Racing (GBR) Virgin Cosworth Timo Glock (24)
Lucas di Grassi (25)

[posted from the author’s just-published work at Formula1Blog]


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s