UPDATE: F1 Brazil: Rosberg Fastest in Rain-Shortened Saturday Practice

What Happens When the Rain Finally Arrives

10:13am EST — With rain streaming down at Interlagos, the final practice before Saturday qualifying has been indefinitely delayed.  According to official timing and scoring, the medical helicopter is unable to take off because of “heavy rain and poor visibility,” and practice has therefore been delayed.  More information will be published when available.  More up-to-the-minute coverage can be found by following On Any Sunday, These Days on Twitter, or watching the Twitter status scroll on the right side of the website.

When the rain finally slowed enough for the helicopter to take off, cars finally began posting times.  The session ended with Nico Rosberg fastest, leading Kazuki Nakajima, Jenson Button, Fernando Alonso, and Adrian Sutil as the fastest five.  Rubens Barrichello was fourteenth and Sebastian Vettel fifteenth, htough all times were compromised by the rain and little running time.  Because of rules restrictions requiring at least two hours between the end of practice and the start of qualifying, the session was shortened to eighteen minutes, as though the teams simply chose not to run for those previous forty-two minutes.  This might be good news for Sebastian Vettel, who has to save his engine as much as possible so as not to incur a ten-place grid penalty.

The shortened practice was even shorter due to a red flag caused by Renault’s Romain Grosjean when crossing one of the rivers on track shortly after teammate Fernando Alonso had a moment in the same place.  Alonso did not crash, but Grosjean was not so lucky, aquaplaning and becoming airborne before coming to a stop in the barrier and crunching the nose of his car.  Practice did not restart after the red flag for Grosjean’s accident, though he climbed out of the car and appeared unhurt.

Final Practice Times for the Brazilian GP (courtesy of the official F1 website):
1. Rosberg 1:23.182
2. Nakajima 1:23.832
3. Button 1:24.122
4. Alonso 1:24.125
5. Sutil 1:24.149
6. Grosjean 1:24.389
7. Buemi 1:24.443
8. Trulli 1:24.859
9. Heidfeld 1:24.867
10. Webber 1:25.440
11. Raikkonen 1:25.508
12. Kovalainen 1:25.685
13. Alguersuari 1:26.224
14. Barrichello 1:26.530
15. Vettel 1:27.047
16. Liuzzi 1:27.341
17. Hamilton 1:27.798
18. Fisichella 1:29.285
19. Kubica 1:29.895
20. Kobayashi 1:30.259


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s